Posted by: sandra | June 12, 2013

Playing around a little

Been working on a few different things around here.  Getting a few things finished (well, ready to bind) and working on some other stuff…

I started with a couple of charm packs from Laundry Basket (available in the shop- batiks and prints), and a new pattern  from Jaybird quilts.

photo(22)

Then using the hex n more ruler from Jaybird I cut out my pieces.  Fast and easy.

photo(23)Next I pieced my little top.  My seams don’t line up perfectly…but they got better as I went along.  So, don’t look too close.

photo(24)Next I layered it, and for the first time I used Dream Fusion cotton batting.

QDBATF61Talk about a great product!  I fused my three layers together perfectly.  I machine quilted it and the fabrics didn’t shift a bit!  The batting did not leave any residue on my needle either!  I was really pleased with it!

photo(25)Here is is quilted and ready to be bound!  The fusible batting comes in a full range of sizes!  If you hate to baste, give this a try!

OK what else…

I quilted my pineapple quilt!  Even got the binding sewn on the front!!photo(26)I’m not sure if I showed you the blue and white quilt I have been working on since the quilt show in February…

photo(27)An easy project, using a huge variety of fabrics!

Well, off to tackle a few other things.

Later, Sandra

Responses

  1. Is that a MODERN quilt pattern using TRADITIONAL fabrics? Gosh, what a great idea. Who would have thought you could combine the two instead of having to chose……LOVE IT.


Leave a Reply

Categories

