Posted by: sandra | April 10, 2013

What a difference a Week Makes

On Thursday of last week we had five inches of snow!

Today it is 88 degrees! Sunny, hot and beautiful!  I may have to turn my air conditioning on!  We may be skipping spring and going right to summer.

The trees have all started to bloom.IMG_5311

The daffodils are out in force.

IMG_7555

I put out some flowers at the house.

IMG_8860

and the cold drinks are here…

IMG_6249

Holly on the other hand…

IMG_1078

Has had a little snow in South Dakota.

IMG950537

Happy Spring Holly!  OK, that wasn’t funny, sorry.

I’ve been doing a little piecing this week.  Hard to keep from spreading out everywhere though!  I am mellowing a little with the showing of the house.  Trying not to worried toooo much if the house is perfect.

I was able to finish putting these quilt blocks together.

IMG_0560Yikes, I won’t be doing this again anytime soon!  It is only about 40″ x 50″!   Any ideas about how to quilt it?

Then I started on these quilt blocks.  They have been rather fun to do, and not nearly as hard as I assumed.

IMG_5141

The blocks are from the book Friendship Strips and Scraps by Laundry Basket Quilts.

StripsScrapsCover

I started with a small collection of fat quarters from Laundry Basket Quilts that I got at the shop.  A combination of batiks and prints.  I then tried what she does in the book…and added Civil War prints and wovens!  Who knew all those fabrics could play together????

So far I have been pretty happy with it.  Plus, I have my next quilt from the book already picked out!

I think it is time to turn the air conditioning on…

Later, Sandra

Leave a Reply

Categories

