Posted by: sandra | December 6, 2012

A is for Applique…Aghhh

The majority of the quilts I have fallen in love with over the last few years have been applique.  Usually a mix of piecing and applique.  Every once in awhile I actually even do a little needle turn applique…Mostly…not.

Because I do a lot of primitive style quilts I often doing the applique work in wool.   Wool is so easy to work with, and very fast!

DSCN5597Here is one block from a pattern called Sue’s Sampler by Hen House Quilts.  The colors are not quite that vibrant…I hope…

However, when I was looking through Kim Diehl’s new book Homestyle Quilts,

51EFG1SQRYL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA300_SH20_OU01_

I found a new applique quilt that I didn’t want to use wool on.

51Jpw3WIPaL._SS400_

So…I thought I would actually read the book.  Usually I just look at the pictures.  Then, I decided to seriously give machine applique a try.  I have dabbled in it a bit over the years. but more a combination of what I read and what I guessed.  This time I read and followed the directions!  Here’s what I have so far.

DSCN5599

Here is a close up photo.  Still room for improvement, but not too bad.

DSCN5600

I think I will have to put away my quilting for a bit, and focus on Christmas.  The only things I have left are decorating, cards, baking, shopping, wrapping and mailing.

Speaking of applique though, check out this quilt…

108508672243586211_XXAMjoFZ_b

I’m not planning on making, but I certainly endorse it!

Later, Sandra

Leave a Reply

Categories

