Posted by: sandra | November 14, 2012

Quilting for our Health…

According to Martha Stewart Living magazine,

“Crafting can decrease your heart rate and blood pressure and even improve sleep….when the mid brain is engaged by the repetitive movement involved in many crafts, the temporal lobe is unable to focus on worry or stress….The cortex-which controls conscience thought–becomes quiet and peaceful . “

In other words…

This pile of quilts means we are taking care of ourselves!

Plus, the mound of unfinished projects mean we plan to take care of myself in the future!

So, it only stands to reason that shopping at your favorite quilt store can be committing to a healthy life!

Although Martha didn’t mention this…I think chocolate works wonders too!

So, let me show you the work out I’ve been having this last week.

I finished this sweet little table runner.  The houses are from Full House by Miss Rosie’s Quilt Company.  I just made mine into a runner instead of a wall hanging.

Then I finished this Christmas pillow, before December!!

This is a simple version of Vintage Candy Cane Snowman by Crabapple Hill Studio.

Then, since I wasn’t crazy enough…I started an English paper piecing quilt.
You may have noticed there are several new books on this old technique.  Also, lots of new patterns at Quilt Market!

I do remember the first time I tried this…I said it would be my last…At the moment, I’m enjoying it though.

I got a kick out of this little Lego sewing machine…

Some people are obviously using “other crafts” to keep healthy.

Hope you all have a healthy week!

Sandra

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

