Posted by: Holly | August 27, 2012

Quilting Solid Fabrics

Hello!! I am excited to be back again and hanging out with the gals at What’s Your Stich’n Stuff. I have heard that there is a really cool Kona Solids challenge going on, how fun is that!! The best thing about making quilts with solids is getting to quilt them…..come on, you knew I was going to say that!

I love quilting on solid fabrics because you can really see the quilting, which is of course, my favorite part. But you also have to be careful about what thread color you use. A contrasting thread is really going to show up on solid fabrics. You may like the look of quilting that shows up and that’s great! But I tend to like quilting that blends in with the quilt top, so the type and color of thread that I pick out plays a big role in my quilting routine. My thread of choice is a thin thread that blends well.

I tend to use poly thread because it doesn’t have a lot of lint and it’s strong enough to run smoothly in my quilting machine. I also keep a lot of thread cards on hand so that I can easily match the thread color to the quilt top. If I can’t find the exact color, I usually err on the lighter side.

The great thing about quilting is that you can make it fit your preferences. Find what works for you and embrace it! Now, how about a giveaway?? The awesome gals have a copy of my book, Free-Motion Quilting with Angela Walters to give away to one lucky readers. So leave a comment and you just might win it!

In the meantime, Happy Quilting!!!

Responses

  1. Love ur quilting! 🙂

  2. I would love to learn how to free motion quilt! A class would be so much fun!

  3. Your work is beautiful! I want to know how without having to learn it…is that asking too much?

  4. Loved seeing your quilting – it is just beautiful! Also enjoyed reading your quilting tips. I just took the machine quilting class at the shop and this encourages me to keep practicing : )

  5. I’m about ready to start the first free motion quilting you suggest in your book on a baby quilt. I will practice on scraps first but then on to a monkey baby quily!


Leave a Reply

Categories

