Posted by: sandra | August 24, 2012

Visiting family or the great quilt shop tour…

My husband and I just spent a week in the great Midwest.  I’m from Minnesota, so it was a trip back home.  The weather was cool and beautiful, and we had a great time!

Our first stop was Como Park and Zoo, where I spent a lot of time as a kid!  Amazing how small the zoo feels now, compared to the ‘old’ days.

I guess the polar bear still thinks it is too hot!

We spent a lot of time with my sister and her husband, at her townhouse on the lake.

We did a little shopping, lots of eating out, saw my brother and his wife and mostly goofed off.  What more could you want?  Oh yeah, one really nice quilt shop…

Next we went to Wisconsin to stay with my aunt and uncle at the lake.

My uncle was in the Navy during WWII, so he and my husband spent a lot of time bonding over ‘sea stories’.

My aunt is a quilter, so we did a lot of bonding too!  She like to make big quilts!

We also visited another aunt and uncle at their lake home.  We did a lot of catching up, eating, eating and eating.  Oh yeah, and another really nice quilt shop.

Next we started our trek across the state of Wisconsin on our way to Primitive Gatherings Quilt Shop!  Only about 200 miles out of the way.  That would be 189 miles without a Starbucks!

It was so worth it!  On day one (yes, I did go their twice)  I told my husband I practically hyperventilated when I saw all that wool!  The shop has tons of samples, ahhhh.

While I was checking out, my cell phone rang.  I was sure it was my husband calling to let me know he was back so I ignored it.  A minute later it rang again, when I looked at my caller ID I didn’t recognize the number, so I ignored it again.  When I stepped outside I checked my message…it was my son calling from Scotland, after being on a submarine for 3 months!  I guess I win “mother of the year” award for that one…

The next day we stopped in the shop again, in case I missed anything…(Actually, I realized I still had room in my suitcase…).  Then a little more shopping, and a little more eating and some hiking through a nature preserve and we started the trip home.

We had a great time but is good to be home.  Just time to unpack, clean house, do the laundry and pack again.  Sunday we leave for Fredricksburg.

Glad I could share a few memories of my vacation with you…

A few more memories I picked up along the way…

Have a great weekend!

Later, Sandra

Responses

  1. Life is good! Safe travels 🙂

    • Life is good! But, I’m still tired…

  2. Oh Sandra, you are living the dream! We were in MN a couple weeks ago, but no visits to shops, darn it! I would love to see the WI shops!

    • Hey Marcie, lots of fun shops to visit in Minnesota! The area of Wisconsin we traveled through was very limited! Want to take a road trip? Jacque and I are making plans…

  3. What?! No inside photos of primitive gatherings and you went there twice! Where was Lisa and NIck?

    • Take photos in the shop? I could barely breathe! So much wool…so little room in my suitcase…


Leave a Reply

Categories

