Posted by: sandra | July 19, 2012

Let it rain, let it rain, let it rain…

We are in the middle of a great rainstorm, and we sure need it!

About two weeks ago we had that freak storm that knocked out electricity in much of the town for 4-8 days!  Of course, we were having a record heat wave at the time, running about 100 degrees every day.  Fortunately, we never really lost power!  But that freak storm brought only wind, and no rain!  So I am glad to see some rain tonight!

Here are my stacks of dresden plates, sorry for the horrible picture.  Guess you can tell just how dark it is in the house during the storm.

I have three more blocks to piece, then I will be moving on to setting them together…I chose a large scale print in a tan/cream color.  Now I have been obsessed with Pinterest and looking at quilt layouts.

This one has an intricate pieced border, which is really nice.

I like the use of the half plates on this one, and the quilting looks fabulous!

I love nine patches, so this one has potential!

Imagine adding a stunning applique border like this one, maybe in wool!

How about a finish like this?

At the moment though, this setting is my favorite!  And it still has nine patch blocks, yeah!

I’ll let you know what I decide…so many possibilities…

Then at the quilt show I bought a pattern and templates from Laundry Basket Quilts called The Dresden Star.

The plates are actually three dimensional, and very cool!  I guess I am not sick of dresden plates yet…

Well, it appears the rain has stopped, bummer!

Have a good weekend everyone!

Later, Sandra

Responses

  1. I love the Dresden Plate! I am going to attempt this tonight or tomorrow.


Leave a Reply

Categories

