Posted by: sandra | July 5, 2012

Happy 4th of July!

I hope you all had a wonderful, hot, fourth of July!  We had a neighborhood picnic complete with homemade ice cream, sparklers and a great view of the town fireworks from our front yard.  It was very fun and very, very hot!

Even a little excitement went the police came…

Luckily, Mike did not have to leave with them…

I did get a couple of things done this week, well the tops are done…

Here is the back of the quilt…see all those itty, bitty tiny blocks!  All those seams are pressed open!

When I see the front, it was all worth it!

It is called “45 and Life to Go” from Primitive Gatherings.  The pattern is available in the shop for $8.25.  The pattern has the choice of two size blocks for two different size quilts.

Last time I was at the shop I picked up some of this Christmas fabric from Henry Glass.

I bought one panel, four fat quarters and a half of a yard of neutral background.  I came home and played with it, and this is what I have, so far.

I sashed the blocks and put stars in the cornerstones.  The photo is really light, as always it is better in person.  Now I need to decide on a border…or should I just end in a scrappy binding…or what.  Hmmm  I am not a big fan of panels, but these little blocks are really cute!

Plus, having something done for a Christmas present in July is fabulous!

Hope you can spend some of the time with your sewing machine away from the hot weather!

Later, Sandra

Leave a Reply

Categories

