Posted by: sandra | June 8, 2012

Super Simple Summer Stuff

How did it get to be Friday already?  How did it get to be June already?  Or 2012 for that matter…Well, as we all know summer sure changes life around town.  I know Virginia Beach still has school for another week, but around here the kids have been out for several weeks.  So, we are officially in ‘take it easy’ and ‘water the plants’ mode.

My husband and I also spent a long weekend in Virginia Beach this last week.  We didn’t get back until late Monday night, and I think I am still trying to make up for that lost week day.

Of course, a trip to the ‘beach’ also means a trip to the shop!!!  I had not been in since February, and I was in major withdrawal!  As you can see…I brought home a few projects for samples at the store.

All I have to do is remember what I had in mind for each of these little piles…

The shop had gotten in chalkboard fabric, and I just had to try it out!  I made a kids place mat out of some of it.

Simple, easy and fun!  This would be great to take to a restaurant to play with while you are waiting for dinner.  Of course, you could make it larger as a play mat or hang it all the wall in a kids room.  We will have a free pattern available at the shop with purchase of the chalkboard fabric.

Next, I made this very simple kids quilt!

The focus fabric is “Spot” and all of his friends, too cute.  This would be a fast project if you need a quilt for a child.  The finished size is about 40″ x 48″, so it is a generous size, however, if you would like it larger the shop also has an adorable Spot border fabric that is perfect for this project!  The kit contains all the fabric for the top, binding and simple directions.  $29.95

OK, that was enough kids stuff for now.

Again, a very simple project, a strip table runner.  You could quilt it as you go if you want, but it was super fast to put together, and just quilt in the ditch.  I put it out on my table to see how it looks…I wonder if I can keep it until the fourth of July…The kit contains all of the fabric for the top, back, binding and simple directions, all for $16.95

I guess you can tell where I have been spending every minute since I got home!  No, the answer is not the kitchen!  Plus, I am on vacuuming restriction…so now I can sew past four o’clock…(inside joke…).

Recently I received the best new quilt book!

Elegant Quilts, Country Charm by Bateman and Bond-abel.  I want to make every, single, solitary, project in this book!  So much so, that I went to an office store and had it spiral bound.  This is a great $5 investment if you know you will be using the book a lot!  It is especially helpful if the book has applique designs that you need to trace.

This is one of the pieces from the book, that I worked on in the car.  I used hand dyed wools on a silk matka background…so yummy.  Next, it will get a sawtooth border.  The book should be back in the shop, check it out!  $26.99

Don’t forget the birthday sale at the shop.  Bring a canned good or two to donate to a local food bank, and receive 25% off most items in the store.

Have a great weekend, Sandra

Leave a Reply

Categories

