Posted by: sandra | April 25, 2012

How does this happen to me…

Last week I started on my Dresden plate blocks.  I knew I was going to use Civil War reproduction fabrics, so I just started cutting a little bit of all of my “good” fabrics.  Then I sewed the first seam…and then I had this!!!!

Apparently, I should count before I start cutting!  I need 20 plates per block…I have hundreds of plates!!!!  Hmmm, I hate when that happens…

I did finish my one Dresden Plate block that is on the wool background.  At least I can count to one!  One and done.

One of the quilt groups I belong to has had a challenge to ‘finish one thing’.  So, I committed to finishing my apple core quilt top.  By the way…I cut it out using my “go baby” accu quilt cutter!  It was so easy!  Now that you can rent time on one the at the shop you can cut out a quilt in a very short time!  It will be very economical too!

I have about seven rows put together.  So, I figured if I added one row a day I would have the top done by our next meeting…After a week of not adding any rows I have a new plan…If I add two rows a day I could get it done by our next meeting…

I heard the new Primitive Quilts magazine has come in the shop.

I love, love, love this magazine!

First on my list of things to make is this ‘sewing clutch’ by The Cottage at Cardiff Farms.

There are three different versions, all made of wool and buttons.  I wonder should I start all three…or try that one and done thing again????

Another thing going on around here…A while back I made this little quilt as part of a color challenge…(An adapted pattern from Primitive Gatherings).

Now, it is part of an auction for the Virginia Quilt Museum!

Starting May 10 and running through May 24th several small quilts will be available for purchase, with all proceeds going to the museum.

If you are interested in more details, or want to see what quilts are available to bid on go to:

http://www.vaquiltmuseum.org/eventAuction_11.php

Well,  I am off to do some embroidery…it’s ok, I did my two rows for today!

Later, Sandra

Leave a Reply

Categories

