Posted by: sandra | April 18, 2012

Full Circle

One of the first quilts  I ever made was a Dresden plate quilt.

Do the colors  give you an idea of when this quilt was made?  I had the quilt on my bed for several years, but never did quilt it…I thought once you had a top you were done…

Lately, I have been seeing Dresden plate quilts and variations everywhere!

On the cover of the new All Small magazine.  Actually, two blocks, one on top of each other.

How about this design?  With a yo yo and button center.

Then, Anne over at Bunny Hill Designs is having a scrappy plate club.

Looking at all of those beautiful Civil War repro fabrics!

Then look at the mini Dresdens with embroidery!!!

And the alternating embroidery block!

To see this full quilt, check out the Crabapple Hill Studio

http://www.crabapplehillstudio.com/items/258_susan%27s_dresden_garden.aspx

The pattern is $25, and has tons of details.  Let Jennifer know if you would like her to order it for you.

So, now I have to make a new Dresden plate quilt!!!!

When I saw this picture

of one block on a wool backing I thought it was a good place to start.

First, you need this great ruler to make your life easier.

You can get it through the shop, I think it cost about $9…

Well, this is what I have so far…

My plates are done and appliqued to wool.  Now to add my center and then a buttonhole stitch around the wool.  Next, I am making Civil War plates!!!!!

So, do you have one of these in your future?

Later, Sandra

Responses

  1. Oh stop it! You’re reading my mind (scary isn’t it) again! I’ve been thinking about Dresden plates lately…or maybe the special ladies who made them 🙂

    • Maybe we should do one together….

  2. I want to play……

  3. Goody, a quilt along!

  4. I love the Dresden plates and have made a couple of wall hangings – also one fourth of a plate is a fan block.


Leave a Reply

Categories

