Posted by: sandra | November 30, 2011

My goal…no crazy Christmas this year!

Why do I drive myself crazy making lists and rushing around and getting so worried about everything at this time of year?  Oh yeah, because I’m the mom…This year I am going to make every effort to not go crazy and to do those things I can “with a happy heart”!

My wish to you all, is a peaceful holiday, starting now! OK, enough of that!

Anyway…we are home from Connecticut, where we had a nice Thanksgiving with our son and daughter-in-law. Oh, don’t forget Roxy.

We ate Thanksgiving dinner with the wedding china!  I am taking out my Christmas china and using it this year, what am I waiting for?

On our way home from Connecticut we stopped in Hershey, Pennsylvania…

To pick up a few ‘chocolate’ souvenirs.

Since I had a lot of time in the car to stitch, I finished this little Christmas ‘pincushion’.

It is called “Peace, Love and Joy” from Primitive Gatherings.  Since I want to use it as a little accent in a cupboard or basket I filled it just with cotton stuffing, no walnut shells. I did not do all of the embroidery the pattern calls for, I thought what I did was plenty.   The sample and pattern are on their way to the shop soon.

If you have only used polyester stuffing, you should really try Sweet Dreams stuffing by Dream Cotton!  It is great!  You use far less filling then polyester while keeping a nice shape and it also has some weight to it.

I also finished a couple more of my Antique Buttermold blocks, only one left!

Then I can start to put it together!

Finally, happy birthday to Holly’s daughter, Sydney and my daughter Rebecca!

The cake is in the oven, so come over about 7pm if you’d like to join us!

Quilting ’till then, Sandra

Responses

  1. So nice Sandra…..love the pincushion!

    • Thanks Joanne, I love the pincushion too! I have several more in the works for gifts…love working with wool! Have a peaceful holiday season!

  2. Happy Holidays to you and I love your idea for celebrating the holidays. Roxy is too stinking cute. Thanks for the post – beautiful work as always.

    • Hi Virginia, thanks for the kind words. Have a wonderful holiday season!


Leave a Reply

Categories

