Posted by: sandra | October 19, 2011

So, what have you been doing?

Or, what happens if Holly doesn’t change the password to the blog…

A few of you may have noticed that I have not been blogging for the shop anymore.  This was a tough decision as I try to balance my life here in Christiansburg and the shop in Virginia Beach.  After a break for a month or two, we have come up with a compromise.  I will blog for the shop once a week and Holly will blog the rest of the time.  (You know, I sure didn’t want to give up my employee discount…).

So, let’s play a little catch up.

We went to my nieces wedding earlier in the month.  A beautiful outdoor ceremony in Minnesota. Congratulations Jennifer and JJ!   We have been on the wedding circuit here the last year or so.


It just so happened there was a huge rug hooking and wool event the day of the wedding…Sure, we’ll get back in town in time for the ceremony, no problem…I have never seen so much wool in my life!  Picked up some new patterns for shop samples too.  Along with patterns I bought at the few shops I went to, we should be seeing some fun new things.

Autumn is here, and the leaves have all changed.  We are starting to get some cooler weather too.  Already talk of snow in the mountains.  Also getting dark earlier, time to spend indoors bonding with my sewing machine.

Check out these new little quilts.  The pattern is from Primitive Gatherings, but adapted from the Little Twister pattern.  The finished size of the quilts is 12″x 14″ or so.  The blocks are nearly the same in the two quilts, what a difference the border fabric makes.  The pattern,  ruler and sample will be at the shop soon.

This table runner is also heading to the shop.  I guess we are all thinking of fall.  The pattern is called Flower Ballet from Scrap Therapy, and it is already available in the shop.  We added wool flowers in the center, instead of the three dimensional in the pattern.  These instructions will be added to the pattern.

Here is a new sample already in the shop, a Christmas (Agh!) table runner.  This is a new pattern from Pieced Tree and very easy.  The kits are available for $24.95, and include all the fabric for the top, back, binding and pattern.

And of course, in case you have been missing pictures of my dogs…here they are.  Waiting for that promised treat!  Abby, the black dog is now officially heavier then the big brown dog Brandy.  How does that work?

Well, there you go.  A little bit about what is new.

Quilting till then, Sandra

Responses

  1. I love ya Holly but Sandra i have missed you. Welcome back in whatever capacity.

  2. Thanks Virginia! It’s good to be back. Sandra

  3. No offense taken……I missed her too!

  4. I’ve missed you Sandra and saw some of your samples today in the shop WONDERFUL!!!

    • I’ve missed you too Lisa! Want to come up for the Tech game today? The drive will be beautiful!


Leave a Reply

Categories

