Posted by: Holly | September 7, 2011

THIS LITTLE PIGGY WENT TO STURGIS!

On a recent trip to Hill City this summer we ran across a little thrift shop that had a little bit of everything, but a whole lot of pigs…….Ididn’t understand what the big deal with pigs was until I realized how close we are to Sturgis.  Home of the Hogs.  So….when in Rome……

As you can see, most are piggy banks, but some are just figurines……

Of every size and color…..

There is one for anyone and everyone…….

There is something to be said for quanity, as it makes you want one so your not left out.  So I found this cute little precious moments piggy bank.  I collect precious moments so this little guy fits right in with the others I have and I will always remember where he came from…….The bottom reads, “Your worth your weight in gold.”  I actually gave it to my husband to let him know how much I really appreciate him……not really.

We had reservations for dinner at one of the resturants in this small town.  It was packed and we still had to wait.  I was surprised to find out that there was only one thing on the menu.  The only choice you made was the size of your steak – large or small and how you wanted it cooked.  Salad came with house dressing.  Steak came with potato and toast.  Sour cream & butter on the side.  Of course when my dinner came out I had to tell the server she made a mistake….  I ordered CHICKEN.  She did not find that funny. The dessert menu is another story.  They must of had 10 items to chose from.  Go figure……and I mean GOOD BYE FIGURE….because after eating all day….there was no figure left.  By the way the food was wonderful.  I guess if your only going to have one thing, you better get it right.

Here’s a shot of the goup after dinner.  Notice all the smiles after a good meal.  It was a good day!

By the way, I received an email from Joe the Quilter yesterday after he read our post.  He wanted me to pass along a side note that he has “NEVER BEEN TO VIRGINIA BEACH AND WOULD LOVE TO VISIT”.    What do you say ladies and gents…..should we bring Joe to VB?

Let us know what you are looking for this coming fall/winter season.

See you soon,

Holly By Golly

Responses

  1. Wow- i thought alice had a big pig collection, that place has her beat for sure. Love the chicken comment. Some people just don’t have a sense of humor – do they.

    • How is ol’ Lester anyway? We should get a photo of Alice with him for our Friends of Heidi-Idy page. yes some people don’t have a sense of humor. Everyone at the table laughed. Maybe she just has heard it too often?!


Leave a Reply

Categories

