Posted by: sandra | August 3, 2011

A few odds and ends…

First the odd…

Next week is the start of the 71st annual Sturgis Motorcycle Rally in South Dakota.  As you may remember Holly and her husband attended last year.  However, this year she is in town and will miss the big event.

Can you imagine a small town of 6,000 people have 400,000 bikers come through it every year?  Wow…not my kind of fun…

Do you remember that there were prizes last year…

Well, I guess this has become our annual event too!  Once again anyone who leaves a comment on this post will be eligible for a random drawing to win…something…I don’t know what…that will be up to Holly.  You have until Sunday at 5pm to leave a comment, then we will choose a winner!

Now, if it turns out that Sturgis and a motorcycle rally is your kind of fun, you might like a new pattern (and kit coming soon) that we have in the store.

It is called Ride On by Three Birds Design

Stop in the store and check it out!

Now for ends…

I received (for free) the book, Getting Back Up When Life Knocks You Down by Jeremy Kingsley.

This is a self help book, all about dealing with difficulties in our lives.  It is written from a Christian perspective, with many spiritual aspects explored.  Additionally the book offers a lot of hands on practical advice to cope with hard times.  Ways to look at ourselves, our own situations, out attitudes, and finally ways to go forward.  This book was a very easy read, (I finished it in one day) and although thankfully I am not in crisis it offers a lot to think about.  I can imagine this is a book that could be reread many times, each time offering new insight.

Don’t forget to leave your comment!

Later, Sandra

Responses

  1. I have a friend with the motorcycle. Maybe the quilt you mentioned would be a great gift. Will have to pursue this option.

    Thanks for the idea.

  2. Wish I could have been a people watcher at the bike rally! I am sure there were very interesting people!

  3. Sandra, could you send some of the “cool” mountain air down this way? Dawn

  4. I wish we had more of that cool mountain air..could I interest you in some tomatoes or cucumbers?

  5. I’ll pass on the pattern but I am sad to miss out on any chihuahua and biker sightings that will no doubt be available in Sturgis, but we’ll keep Holly anyway!

  6. My hubbie has two Harleys. He would love to be in
    Sturgis but he’s still working at 68 yrs. I love the
    opportunity to win anything although that Ride-on
    pattern would be great for him. So much fabric,
    so little time!

  7. Hey, that bottle of wine looks familiar – oh, that’s right – i won one just like it last year. Love the pattern. I have already seen it in the store. Waiting on the kit.

  8. I have been in a small town in Missouri when the ‘motorcycle’ gang came to town and they were just nice guys.

  9. Very great information can be found on weblog . “Life without a friend is death without a witness.” by Eugene Benge.

  10. Excellent, what a webpage it’s! This web site presents valuable facts to us, keep it up.

  11. Great – I should definitely pronounce, impressed together with your website. I had no difficulty navigating through all of the tabs and related information ended up becoming really simple to complete to access. I lately discovered what I hoped for prior to you know it at all. Reasonably uncommon. Is most likely to appreciate it for all those who add forums or something, web site theme . a tones way for the client to communicate. Good job.

  12. I think the admin of this web site is actually working hard in favor of his web site, for
    the reason that here every data is quality based data.


Leave a Reply

Categories

