Posted by: sandra | July 12, 2011

Little House on the Prairie…

For all of you who live in the ‘real’ world, such as Virginia Beach, I hope you appreciate all the easy things in life!  I live in Christiansburg, VA, population 19,632.  For Holly, Pierre, SD is ‘worse’, only 14,072.

While life in a small town has many wonderful aspects, we are both still getting used to not being near to all the things we used to take for granted!

I have never mail ordered as many things in my life as I have over the last two years!  I get a shipment from Sue at the shop at least once a month, (thank you Sue)!  But, I also order printer ink, batteries, clothes, books…

For Holly, instead of creating “wild” ideas in the shop, she is gathering and delivering eggs!

I think being away from Virginia Beach I have become even more impressed with Stitch ‘n Stuff.  (Yes, Holly probably is paying me to say that…).  Being able to go in and touch the fabrics, look at the new books, play with the wool…it beats mail order any day!

Another reason to support your local quilt shop!  Imagine how sad you would be if they were not there to enjoy…

Stop in and see us!

Later, Sandra

Responses

  1. Spent 6 hours there today, is that sufficient?? 🙂

  2. Sounds like you are doing your part!

  3. I loved LHOP books and the TV show. I do believe those kinds of stories, though, are mostly to blame for my, uh,…’specialness’. I wanted to live there, have the adventures, live on one potato for a month..all of it. The reality of my childhood..a Marine father, a mother pulling her hair out with six kids, moving(i went to 3 first grades), chaos….I longed for the controlled life in the little house. So,instead, I go up to WYSS and feel the same ambience. Ahhhhh.

  4. Have you seen there is a new book out about Laura? I am on the waiting list for it at the library. Might be too much reality getting in the way of the ‘dream’ I have of those days…


Leave a Reply

Categories

