Posted by: sandra | May 4, 2011

Quilts of Valor with our Guild

Last month our guild (The Quilting Party)  had a program, learning about the basics of Quilts of Valor.  Each member of the group was asked to make two quilt blocks from the “With Gratitude” pattern.  This is a perfect quilt for a group project because the blocks are big and easy!  Members either made two nine patch blocks or one nine patch and one star block.

After the meeting we took the blocks and added the setting squares to make two quilts.  One blue version and one red version.  How easy is that!

Today they went into the mail for Mary Lynn, Virginia Beach’s great Quilts of Valor coordinator.  It felt really good for our guild to participate in this project.  Also, to know that Mary Lynn will see that they get quilted, bound, labeled and sent to Germany.  Thank you so much Mary Lynn for everything you do!

Also at the meeting we showed off the new American Valor fat quarters that the shop has been sending me…how yummy is that!  Perhaps our next QOV project…

I believe we are still waiting on the Moda American Valor fabrics, then we will have them all!  Don’t worry, I saved some for you!

Later, Sandra

Responses

  1. Sandra, Your guild did ‘purdy’ work! I wish I could have been there..hmm…brings me to my real point: my adoption.
    Background~ i have asked Sandra to please adopt me since she showed her new house pictures. Seems the paperwork keeps getting lost. I keep telling her older kids like me are hard to place (53 yrs old, but that’s only 8 if you add the digits). NOW WHAT AM I TO DO WITH THE BEAUTIFUL AND BODACIOUS MOTHERS’ DAY GIFT THAT I BOUGHT?
    Well fate has stepped in….M.R., who works at the shop, is moving to a beautiful new house. I saw the pitchurs right in her phone yesterday. I mentioned to her that her land was sooooo large, she could build a little cottage on it. She said she agreed…so I am going to give her the opportunity of a lifetime…adopt a slightly used daughter who can advise HER on menopause. As for the Mothers’ day gift~I always buy something I like too! Luv, your ex~daughter~to~be, Cathleen

  2. I’ll go to the shop tomorrow to do my part, as promised.

  3. Thanks Jacque!


Leave a Reply

Categories

