Posted by: sandra | May 2, 2011

This is all Vicki’s fault!

A couple of years ago I saw a beautiful quilt that Vicki P. had made.  Rose quilted it and it was stunning!  I bought the pattern and have been dreaming about that quilt ever since.

It is called ‘Medallion Sampler’ by Lori Smith of From My Heart to your Hand.  The quilt is 72 inches square, with pieced border after pieced border after pieced border.  I really hate making pieced borders…Hmmm should have thought about that before.  However, the finished design is so worth it.  The pattern is very well written, and only $12!

Here is what I have so far.

Notice a distinct lack of applique so far…Yes, I know I should have done that first, but I didn’t want to.  The last border of nine patch block has not been sewn together, that is why it looks so wavy…My piecing has gotten some real practice.  Lots of tiny blocks with many, many pieces.  And of course, all those pieced rows have to fit together perfectly!  The quilt in the pattern is primarily green, but mine will be blue.  I hope plan on having it finished for a quilt show next June.  Better keep on track…

A big thank you to everyone who participated in the Just One Star block project.  The shop sent in 36 star blocks from our customers and employees, as well as many more customers who sent theirs in on their own!  Great contribution guys!

Later, Sandra

Leave a Reply

Categories

