Posted by: sandra | April 22, 2011

The Color Crayon Challenge

I mentioned a while back that one of the guilds I visited (and will probably get around to joining…) had  a quilt challenge.  Each person chose three crayons from a bucket, sight unseen.  These are my three colors.

Oh, sorry about the glare!  Yellow, gray and white.  These colors had to be dominant, but other colors could be added as well.  Here is what I have so far…

Now, the moment you have all been waiting for, please critique!  This is a very small quilt, about 10 inches by 12 inches.  The base is cotton and the applique uses hand dyed wools.  Do you think the design is too top heavy?  Should I consider add a cut daisy laying in front of the jar?  Other thoughts?

The applique is part of a reduced design from the book Summer Gatherings by Primitive Gatherings.  I love every one of the 28 projects in the book, and this was a great way to put it on the top of my to-do list.

This is what the book looks like, $28.  A great price for 28 projects.  Take a look at it next time you are in the shop!

Later, Sandra

Responses

  1. I think you should send it to me so I can personally see it and let you know. hee..hee…hee

  2. Sandra, Maybe some kind of small zig-zaggy type of line under the heart – an inch or so down? I think something along that line might give the “bottom” of the quilt the right balance with the flowers. Or possibly doe a heart in hand instead of a heart alone?

    • Sorry, not a heart, a star…I am blind this morning!

  3. Thanks Kathie, what about some kind of defining lines on the jar? Vertical lines…


Leave a Reply

Categories

