Posted by: sandra | February 10, 2011

Fun, fun, fun kids quilt!

If you have a child about 2-5 years old that you want to make a quilt for, have I got a project for you!

Petal Party by Beany Boy Quilts

Each of the petals and leaves are three dimensional and the flaps are attached to the background with velcro.

On the back of each of the petals and leaves are childrens novelty prints.  Making it a fun  ‘matching game’!  The child has to turn over a ‘leaf’ and then find the matching fabric!  (My 21 year old had some fun with it..)  I noticed that most of the novelty prints in my stash are boy types.  I figured that evened out the girl design.  This is not a hard quilt to make, and I think little kids will love it!  The sample and patterns are now at the shop so you can check it out.

While I was cutting up my novelty fabrics I started thinking about other ways to use them.

So, I got out my Go! Baby and tumbler die…


Then I cut up my novelty prints into tumbler blocks.  I will pick up lots more novelty fat quarters at the store and probably at the quilt show too.  Wouldn’t it be fun to have a tumbler quilt for a kids quilt?  Matching game or an eye spy style…

Later, Sandra

Responses

  1. I have a stack of the fruit/veggie prints that have been calling my name. I think I will get my GO BABY out tomorrow and make a table topper. It will soon be planting seaon, then on to canning season so this will be perfect! Can’t wait to get started!!

  2. The quilt is beautiful!!!! The 3-d design is hitting all over now.


Leave a Reply

Categories

