Posted by: sandra | January 17, 2011

Apple Core Quilt

Do you ever see a certain quilt design, and just know that one day you will make it?  One day…That’s how I feel about an “apple core” quilt.  I’ve always known I would get around to making it.

Here is the American Patchwork and Quilting magazine pattern that I’ve saved.  I love the quilt made with all of the plaids.  The date on the pattern, June 1994!!!

Then the various tools I have acquired, one in plastic and one in metal.

But, this is the tool that is making this quilt a reality, The Go! Baby.

In about 2 hours this morning I cut out 275 perfect apple core blocks!  I could cut through eight layers at a time, although six worked a little better.  If you have not tried the Go! Baby cutting system, come into the shop and check it out.

I chose a wide selection of silky plaids, checks and stripes.  So far, I love it!  Most of the fabrics are Maison De Garance from French General.  The shop may still have one big fat quarter bundle of them left,  $50.

I tested sewing the blocks together and they went together perfectly!  Now all I need to do id lay it out to decide on color arrangement…and then just sew them together.  I wonder how big it will be?  Ah, details…

In other news I’ve heard that Holly will have a new post tonight on the “Heidy Idy and Holly cook page.  I guess when it is 15 degrees and snowing, staying in to cook is not such a bad idea.

Later, Sandra

Responses

  1. We had our first Go Baby meeting yesterday and had fun! I love the apple core block and bought the die. That will surely be one of our projects in the future.
    Carol


Leave a Reply

Categories

