Posted by: sandra | January 9, 2011

Full circle?

When I got my first sewing machine I did all kinds of sewing.   I made a quilt (top) or two, then I moved on to maternity clothes.  Next it was receiving blankets and smocked baby gowns.  More bibs and pajamas then I can count!  I made suits and dresses for my kids and tons of overalls!  (Along the way I learned the corduroy needs to be sewn in a certain direction…)  I’ve made minkee stuff animals, curtains, doll clothes…and on and on and on.  Somewhere along the line I made a ‘real’ quilt.  Meaning I made the top and actually layered it and bound it.  Well, that was the end of all the “other” sewing!  Seriously, who need buttons and zippers when you can have yummy, beautiful fabrics, and not worry if it is going to ‘fit’ your kid by the time you get it finished.

So, I kind of laughed at myself today when I finished a couple of samples for the store.  A little girls dress and a matching American girl doll outfit!  Kids clothes and doll clothes were very popular at market.  We brought home about a dozen patterns and ordered more.  I almost hate to admit it, but I had a good time making them.  The patterns are from Modkids and have very clear directions.  Even if you have not done any garment sewing the patterns are easy to understand.

First, here is Molly in a design called “mini Ava”, it is actually a layered halter top and a skirt.  They can be worn separately, or together to look like a dress.  Yeah, it fit too!

Here is the children’s version of ‘Ava’  a size 2T.  Again two separate pieces, layered together.  The pattern includes sizes 2-7

It almost makes me want a two year old to put in the dress…almost…

Here are the covers for the patterns, $13.00 each.  The shop probably has a few in stock, but Sue will have to reorder patterns for the samples.  If you want to see the full line of patterns that are available check out the website at    http://modkidboutique.com/      As always, if you want a special order let Sue know and she will get it for you!

Later, Sandra

 

Responses

  1. Hi there to every body, it’s my first pay a quick visit of this web site; this
    web site carries awesome and genuinely good information in support
    of visitors.


Leave a Reply

Categories

