Posted by: sandra | December 10, 2010

Wow! My sewing machine makes buttonholes…

OK, I guess I knew that my sewing machine made buttonholes, but I try not to remove my nice 1/4″ quilting foot.  Let alone use a foot that sounds like “garment sewing”.  Seriously, I don’t do hems, repairs…ya’ know.

Remember way back when I asked if this shower curtain was too much?

Seems like a few people thought it was a little much…

Then check out this shower curtain that recently came up at Moda Bake Shop.

Ruffles, ruffles and more ruffles!  Imagine an entire shower curtain made out of ruffles!  Don’t you wonder what your family would say when they saw it?

So, instead I went with a plain, simple shower curtain.

And I love it!  It is made from a stripe from Claremont Farms for Moda, and is so much nicer then the store bought one I had.  Figured since I had the fabric for awhile and we are having lots of company of the holidays…maybe I would finish that bathroom.  We painted this summer and I still haven’t hung the pictures back up…or gotten matching towels…Can you tell that no one uses the upstairs bath?  Well, that is why I had to make buttonholes, 12 to be exact.  Actually had to take my sewing machine manual out and read it.  That’s how long it has been since I used that sewing foot.  I’ll bet I forget again before I make more buttonholes too.

Later, Sandra

Responses

  1. I just had to make buttonholes at our last guild workshop. We made the cutest little jewelry travel bags but needed 2 bottonholes so we could run the rattail through the casing. I, too, had to pull out my sewing machine manual and try to figure out how to do it. My machine actually has a memory for buttonholes so once you make the first it will keep making the same size for you as many times as you need. I think that old, old attachment that used to be was actually easier than today’s computerized machines for button holes!!

  2. nice compromise!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

