Posted by: Holly | November 25, 2010

Heidi~Idy & Holly wish you a Happy Thanksgiving!

What better way to start Thanksgiving that with a start to the new series Heidi~Idy & Holly? Yes, I have been talking about doing a blog post about the cookbook we published this year and writing about all the wonderful entries. In a Julie & Julia style story.  I didn’t know where to start, soooooo I finally decided that I would begin with a tribute to my sister-in-law, Charlotte Dieter. She passed away a few years ago from colon cancer. She was only 41 years old and still full of life.  She is thought of daily by many and especially this last week when it was her birthday, November 20th.  (Same day as our own  Sandra – hope she enjoyed them cupcakes – too bad they couldn’t ship me one)  Anyway, sweet potatoes was one of the side dishes Charlotte brought to the family gatherings. So that is what I will be making.  Here goes the official kickoff of:

HEIDI~IDY & HOLLY

The Book: Heidi~Idy ‘n Friends Recipes Remembered  ~ What’s Your Stitch ‘n Stuff Celebrating 20 years of Quilting, Food, Fun & Friendship

The Challenge: 365 days ~ 191 Recipes       I hope to make today’s recipe when I sign off next Thanksgiving.

The Contender: Holly Erdei-Zuber, a.k.a. Heidi, Margaret, &  Crazy Holly

              Shop Owner, quilter, baker, cook and crazy person by day & night, risking what’s left of her sanity. She has signed up for this deranged assignment hoping to share the joy of quilting, through cooking with all our FANS!

 How far can this go: Hopefully I will make it to St. Patrick’s Day,…but that’s a long time from now.  So I hope I hear some encouraging comments to keep me going to next Thanksgiving.  Or maybe just tell me to give it up….but for today you are stuck with me.

 

CONNIE’S SWEET POTATO CASSEROLE  by Connie Herron

Connie is an employee at the shop and also does the fabric updates on the website.  I spoke with her regarding her recipe and was told that this was a family favorite and she is in BIG trouble if she doesn’t make it.  It was passed down from her Mother’s side and she has since tweaked it a little.  They definitely like the pecans in place of the marshmallows. Connie now adds a little more butter and less sugar….yummm, sounds like my kind of food!  Paula Deen would be proud!

  3 c. mashed sweet potatoes                         1 tsp. vanilla

1/2 c. sugar                                                         1/2 c. milk

1 egg                                                                       1/2 c. butter

Mix above ingredients and place in a buttered casserole dish.

Topping:

1 c. light brown sugar                                           1 1/2 c. chopped pecans

1/3 c. flour                                                                1/3 c. butter

Mix together and sprinkle on top of sweet potato mixture.  Bake in a 350 degree oven for 30 minutes.

Here I am adding a ZUBER FARM FRESH EGG to the sweet potatoes.  How many yams does it take to make 3 cups of mashed sweet potatoes?

Ta Dah……..here is my finished dish.  I did end up taking the corner section out to eat and it was delish!  Thanks Connie for the recipe and being part of the WYSNS family.

You may have heard that we had a little snow out our way already……..

This is our first Thanksgiving in our new house.  We continue to miss all our family and friends in Virginia, but still love it in South Dakota.  Give mom a hug from me when you see here!

Happy Thanksgiving to all!  Hope you have a wonderful and safe holiday.

Holly By Golly

We miss you Charlotte!!

Responses

  1. Holly, this sounds very yummy, although I must admit that I am still too full to think about another casserole! Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. I love the recipes idea! This one looks like a real keeper too. Happy Thanksgiving to you, and please keep all of that snow up in SD!

  3. Happy Thanksgiving to all

  4. I am impressed by the size of those sweet potatoes. Holly, i miss ya but am so happy for you and Dan. My Dan retires the end of december and i am also looking forward to our retirement home. Take care. Happy Thanksgiving to all.

    • I miss you all too, Virginia. Good luck with retirement! Are you planning on moving? Don’t forget us if you do! Holly


Leave a Reply

Categories

