Posted by: sandra | October 24, 2010

Templates did not kill me!

Despite everything I’d always thought…using templates for a quilt block did not kill me!  Better yet, they worked, perfectly!  Who’d of thought…As part of our continued effort to make patriotic items for Houston, I made the “American Heroes Pillow” from Joy Iervolino.  I must admit I dreaded this project because it is a more complicated block then I usually do.  I’ve always been more of a nine patch girl!  Well, I spent more time fretting about this project then actually making it.  The pillow went together so easily, and the directions were great!

Basically, the star center is a fussy cut photo transfer, surrounded by a five point star.  This is then appliqued (or machine quilted) to a background with borders added.  I was very pleasantly surprised how well it went together.  I made my block into a pillow (a big pillow 20″) but of course you could make it into a wall hanging or use it as part of a quilt.  The pattern is available at the store.

Thanks a lot Joy for emailing me the pattern, so I could get it done in time!

We have been having some fall weather here, but the autumn leaves have not been very spectacular.  I guess it was too dry here this year.  One thing I love about fall is…

this treat we call “candy corn crack”  Good candy corn with salted dry roasted peanuts.  About 2-3 peanuts per candy corn. It is so good!  I have seen M&M’s added to it, but that doesn’t so it for me.

This is not a great photo, but it is a possibility for a new block of the month at the shop, in wool.  No sheep, Kathie!  I thought it had a great antique feel to it.  Any thoughts?  Do you like it?

Better get back to my “to do” list.

Later, Sandra


Responses

  1. Love the possible BOM…ready to sign up and start! Thanks for the lack of sheep 🙂

  2. I love it too! despite the lack of sheep…

  3. I love it too cause I love applique Where do I sign!!!

  4. Lisa, I figured you would want to make the sample…


Leave a Reply

Categories

